Editing and Canceling Transports

Learn how to edit and cancel scheduled transports.

Circumstances that change or impact a scheduled transport happy. This may mean your rider’s appointment was canceled or they need to be picked up at a different location. In this article, you will learn how to easily edit or cancel existing rides for your organization all within the Roundtrip portal.

Updating Your Current Assigned Group

First, confirm that your currently assigned group aligns with the group the transport is booked under. If your groups are not aligned, you won't be able to proceed with editing or canceling the transport.

To confirm the group the transport is booked under, you can review the Ride Details page. Navigate to the specific transport within Roundtrip. Make sure your group matches the one on the ride.

Notion image
 

Editing Rides

To edit a ride, first navigate to the Ride Details page for the ride in question. Depending on the type of ride edit you need to make, the next steps may vary:

Rides that are already in progress, completed, or canceled cannot be edited. Similarly, if this is the return ride of a round trip and the outbound ride was already completed, you will not be able to edit the ride. You will need to cancel and rebook the ride as a one way instead.

Important Note: If you are editing a stretcher or ambulance transport with an electronically created PCS Form from Roundtrip, additional steps may need to be taken to ensure the PCS Form maintains a signature from a credentialed party. Please view this article before editing the transport.
Important Note: If you are editing a stretcher or ambulance transport with an electronically created PCS Form from Roundtrip, additional steps may need to be taken to ensure the PCS Form maintains a signature from a credentialed party. Please view this article before editing the transport.

Changing the Ride Time

If you need to change only the requested ride time, you can do so by clicking the “Change Ride Time” button at the top of the ride details.

Notion image

This will open a pop-up window for you to choose the new ride time. You can choose to set a pickup or drop-off time. Once you’re satisfied with your selection, click “Set Time” to save your changes and the new ride time will be set.

Notion image
 
 
Need to set the ride time for a will call instead? Check out this article for more information.
Need to set the ride time for a will call instead? Check out this article for more information.

All Other Ride Edits

For all other edits needed, click the “Edit Trip” button at the top of the page.

Notion image
 

This will take you back to ride booking and you’ll be prompted to advance through each step of the booking flow to continue. Make the appropriate edit needed and advance to the final step of the booking flow. Once on the final step, click “Book Trip” to save your changes.

 

What Happens Next

Once a ride is edited, the next steps may vary slightly depending on what information was edited, the vehicle type, and whether the ride was assigned or not prior to the edit.

First, let’s take a look at edits to a ride’s “critical attributes”. A critical attribute is a key characteristic of a ride that is essential for fulfillment and successful provider assignment. If a critical attribute is edited, this can significantly impact the ride and a Transportation Partner’s ability to fulfill the transport. In Roundtrip, these critical attributes include:

  • Requested Ride Time
  • Pickup Location
  • Drop-off Location
  • Payer Type
  • Vehicle Type

What Happens After Editing a Ride?

The outcome of an edit depends on:

  • The type of transportation scheduled
  • Whether the change affects a critical or non-critical ride detail
  • Whether the ride has already been assigned to a Transportation Partner

Rideshare

For rideshare rides, there is no difference between critical and non-critical edits.

Once the edit is saved, the updated ride details will be shared with the assigned driver after the ride is launched.

Non-Rideshare

If the ride has already been assigned to a Transportation Partner, the assigned provider will be notified to review the updated ride details and submit an updated ETA.

If the Transportation Partner:

  • Accepts the changes and submits a new ETA, the ride remains assigned.
  • Does not submit an updated ETA, or cannot accommodate the updated ride details, the ride will be unassigned and returned to the Roundtrip Community for another Transportation Partner to claim.

Once the edit is saved, the updated ride details will be reflected in Roundtrip.

The assigned Transportation Partner will remain assigned to the ride and is not required to submit an updated ETA.

Once the edit is saved, the updated ride details will be reflected in Roundtrip.

No additional action is required because a Transportation Partner has not yet been assigned.

Non-Rideshare (Brokered)

Once the edit is saved, the updated ride details will be reflected in Roundtrip.

If the ride has already been authorized with the broker, the broker must be contacted directly to provide the updated information.

This applies to both critical and non-critical edits.

Once the edit is saved, the updated ride details will be reflected in Roundtrip.

The updated information will be provided to the broker when authorization is requested.

This applies to both critical and non-critical edits.

 
 

Canceling Rides

To cancel a ride, first navigate to the ride details page for the ride in question. Click on the “Cancel” button near the top of the page.

  • Note: If the ride is already in progress or completed, you will not be able to cancel the ride.
Notion image

This will open a pop-up window for you to cancel the ride. Depending on how the trip is scheduled, you may have multiple options available to you:

 

For One Way Rides

If your rider is only scheduled for a one way ride, you will only be prompted to cancel the individual ride.

 
Notion image
 
 

For Round Trip Rides

If your rider is scheduled for a round trip, you can choose to cancel just the individual ride or both legs of the round trip by clicking the tabs at the top of the pop-up window.

 
Notion image
 
 

For a Repeating Ride Series

If your rider has a repeating ride series booked, you can choose to cancel just the individual ride, the entire round trip (if applicable), or the entire ride series by clicking the tabs at the top of the pop-up window.

 
Notion image
 
 

Regardless of the cancelation option you selected, you will be prompted to select a reason for the cancelation from the dropdown menu titled “Reason”. You may expand upon that reason in the free-text field labeled “Additional Information”. Once you’re satisfied with your selection, click “Cancel ride” to save your changes. The ride will then move to the “Canceled” tab within Roundtrip. The rider and Transportation Partner (if one is assigned) will receive a notification regarding the cancelation.

 

Bulk Cancellations

Cancel multiple rides at once from the Trips tab.

  1. Select the riders you would like to cancel the rides for
  1. Click ‘Cancel Rides’ button
  1. Select the cancellation reason and add any additional notes for the group.
  1. Click Cancel Ride

You will see a banner at the top of the page noting the amount of rides canceled. The rides will then move to the “Canceled” tab within Roundtrip. The rider and Transportation Partner (if one is assigned) will receive a notification regarding the cancellation.

Notion image
 
Icon

Still need help? Contact our 24/7 Navigation Center at (877) 396-8080 or email our Support Team at rideqa@roundtriphealth.com for further assistance. Please be sure to include the Ride ID if inquiring about a specific ride. Learn how to locate the Ride ID here.

 
Did this answer your question?
😞
😐
🤩